Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy 2011

An assessment of economic development activities of the North Central Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission over the last decade and the past year. The report’s seven sections describe the CEDS Committee, Past Year’s Activities, the Physical Region, Changes in the Region’s Population, changes in the Region’s Economy, a Regional Development Strategy, and an Economic Development Work Plan. Also included is a list of potential public works projects. This CEDS process maintains the Region’s eligibility as an Economic Development District (EDD) with the U.S. Economic Development Administration. The District consists of ten counties. These counties are Adams, Forest, Juneau, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Oneida, Portage, Vilas, and Wood. However, Portage, and Wood Counties do not fully participate in the EDD – only some local communities with these two Counties participate.